TAGC Home      COMMUNITIES: Population, Evolutionary, and Quantitative (PEQG)

Population, Evolutionary, and Quantitative Genetics (PEQG) Community Information

PEQG logo

Meet face-to-face with the PEQG research community at TAGC 2020! The meeting’s unique format offers multiple opportunities for you to share your work, learn about the latest research and tools, build community, and recruit newcomers to the field. Catch up with colleagues at the opening night PEQG mixer and at designated community meeting spots throughout the meeting. We’ll make it easy to spot your community’s people and posters via signage and badges.

Presentation Opportunities

If you submit an abstract, it will be reviewed and scheduled in one of three types of sessions:

  • Posters
  • Community (oral)
  • Thematic (oral)

Poster, Community, and Thematic Sessions will all feature research from the fields of population, evolutionary, and quantitative genetics. There will be plenty to discover and share!

Community Program Committee Chairs

Hopi Hoekstra, Harvard University (Co-Chair)

Dmitri Petrov, Stanford University (Co-Chair) 

Patrick Phillips, University of Oregon (Co-Chair)


Ed Buckler, Cornell University

Catherine Linnen, University of Kentucky

Harmit Malik, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Institute

Sally Otto, University of British Columbia

Bret Payseur, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Sohini Ramachandran, Brown University

Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra, University of California, Davis

Paul Turner, Yale University

Community Special Events and Awards

James F. Crow Early Career Researcher Award

Professor James F. Crow’s contributions to the field of genetics were impactful and innumerable. Crow and his students revealed the rates and fitness consequences of mutations, discovered segregation distorter loci, and began the characterization of P transposable elements, using Drosophila melanogaster as a model system. His theoretical achievements included laying the foundation for the neutral theory of molecular evolution, reformulating the concept of genetic load, and understanding the effects of inbreeding on genetic variation. Crow’s textbook “An Introduction to Population Genetics Theory,” published in 1970 with Motoo Kimura, remains the gold standard text for theoretical population genetics today. With Bill Dove, Crow co-edited the monthly “Perspectives” section of GENETICS for more than 20 years. Crow’s own written contributions to the section (45 articles) masterfully situated controversies and leaders in genetics in their historical context.

Crow seamlessly integrated research with outstanding teaching and a passion for public service. Crow excelled at explaining genetic concepts to a wide range of audiences, making him an unusually effective and popular teacher. He spoke to people he met in the community with the same admiration and excitement with which he greeted his scientific colleagues. Crow was that rare colleague whom everyone loved: a model scientist and an exemplary human.

Crow considered his students to be his greatest gift to science. It is in this spirit that the Genetics Society of America presents the James F. Crow Early Career Researcher Award to honor and celebrate Crow’s legacy. Finalists for the Crow Award will present their research in a high-profile PEQG session. The overall winner will be selected by the conference keynote speakers.

To be eligible to apply you must:

  • be a GSA member;
  • be a student or recent PhD (PhD awarded after January 2018);
  • conduct population, evolutionary, or quantitative genetics research;
  • and have submitted an abstract for presentation at TAGC 2020 under the Population, Evolutionary, and Quantitative Genetics category.

More information about application deadlines and materials will be available in Fall 2019.

Previous recipients and finalists

Katherine Xue, University of Washington

Jeremy Berg, Columbia University
Alison F. Feder, Stanford University
Amy Goldberg, University of California, Berkeley
Emily B. Josephs, University of California, Davis
Emily C. Moore, North Carolina State University

Sarah Sander, Cornell University

Matthew S. Ackerman, Indiana University, Bloomington
Emily Behrman, University of Pennsylvania
Heath Blackmon, University of Minnesota
Gili Greenbaum, Ben-Gurion University
Sandeep Venkataram, Stanford University

Ensure the sustainability of this community award by contributing to the Crow Award Fund. GSA is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Contributions may be tax deductible.

Donate Now