TAGC Home      COMMUNITIES: Drosophila

Drosophila Community Information

Drosophila logo

Meet face-to-face with the Drosophila research community at TAGC 2020! The meeting’s unique format offers multiple opportunities for you to share your work, learn about the latest research and tools, build community, and recruit newcomers to the field. Catch up with colleagues at the opening night Drosophila mixer and at designated community meeting spots throughout the meeting. We’ll make it easy to spot Drosophila people and posters via signage and badges. When it comes to attending talks, you won’t be forced to choose between Drosophila and your favorite topic; Community Sessions and Thematic Sessions are held at different times, so there will be no need to miss out.

Plenary Speakers

Ethan Bier, University of California San Diego

Michael Buszczak, University of Texas Southwestern

Alex Gould, Francis Crick Institute

Sally Horne-Badovinac, University of Chicago

Amanda Larracuente, University of Rochester

Mimi Shirasu-Hiza, Columbia University

Marta Zlatic, Janelia Research Campus


Presentation Opportunities

If you submit an abstract, it will be reviewed and scheduled in one of three types of sessions:

  • Posters
  • Community (oral)
  • Thematic (oral)

Poster and Thematic Sessions will feature research from all communities, while Drosophila Community Sessions will be dedicated to research on fruit flies.

Community Program Committee Chairs

Lynn Cooley, Yale University

Community Special Events and Awards

Larry Sandler Award 

The Larry Sandler Memorial Lecture is presented by an outstanding recent PhD graduate on the opening night of the Conference. The award was established in 1988 by the colleagues, friends, and students of Dr. Larry Sandler after his untimely death in 1987. The award serves to honor Dr. Sandler for his many contributions to Drosophila genetics and his exceptional dedication to the training of Drosophila biologists.


Any student completing a PhD in an area of Drosophila research between July 2018 and December 2019 is eligible and may be nominated by his/her thesis advisor.


All nominations must be submitted by the student’s thesis advisor and should include the following:

  • Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae
  • Nominee’s thesis abstract of 1-2 pages
  • A nomination letter directly answering the following questions:
    • What are the main discoveries in the nominee’s thesis?
    • What are the intellectual and experimental contributions of the nominee to the project?
    • How does the thesis work advance what was previously known in the field and to previous work from your lab?


Please combine all requested nomination information into one pdf and send to Barbara Mellone at barbara.mellone@uconn.edu for receipt by December 19, 2019.

Past recipients:

Bruce Edgar, 1988
Kate Harding, 1989
Michael Dickinson, 1990
Maurice Kernan, 1991
Doug Kellogg, 1992
David Schneider, 1993
Kendal Broadie, 1994
David Begun, 1995
Chaoyong Ma, 1996
Abby Dernburg, 1997
Nir Hacohen, 1998
Terence Murphy, 1999
Bin Chen, 2000
James Wilhelm, 2001
Matthew C. Gibson, 2002

Sinisa Urban, 2003
Sean McGuire, 2004
Elissa Hallem, 2005
Daniel Ortiz-Barrientos, 2006
Yu-Chiun Wang, 2007
Adam A. L. Friedman, 2008
Timothy T. Weil, 2009
Leonardo Koerich, 2010
Daniel Babcock, 2011
Stephanie Turner Chen, 2012
Weizhe Hong, 2013
Ruei-Jiun Hung, 2014
Zhao Zhang, 2015
Alejandra Figueroa-Clarevega, 2016
Danny E. Miller, 2017
Lucy Liu, 2018

Drosophila Image Award

The Drosophila Image Award was established in 2004 to recognize compelling images that communicate important findings in Drosophila research. Any image from a paper that has been accepted for publication in the calendar year preceding the Conference is eligible and can be submitted by the researcher who generated it. The Award is given to the most striking image and video that clearly convey an important biological result.

Details of the competition and Award Committee members can be found at www.drosophila-images.org.