Quick Links

Meeting Organizers

Fernando Pardo-Manuel de Villena - Chair
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Dmitri Petrov - Co-Chair
Stanford University

Matthew Hahn
Indiana University

Hopi Hoekstra
Harvard University

Lauren M. McIntyre
University of Florida

Matt Rockman
New York University

PEQG Home      PROGRAM: Conference and Travel Awards

Conference and Travel Awards

James F. Crow Early Career Researcher Award

Professor James F. Crow’s contributions to the field of genetics were impactful and innumerable. Crow and his students revealed the rates and fitness consequences of mutations, discovered segregation distorter loci, and began the characterization of P transposable elements, using Drosophila melanogaster as a model system. His theoretical achievements included laying the foundation for the neutral theory of molecular evolution, reformulating the concept of genetic load, and understanding the effects of inbreeding on genetic variation. Crow’s textbook “An Introduction to Population Genetics Theory,” published in 1970 with Motoo Kimura, remains the gold standard text for theoretical population genetics today. With Bill Dove, Crow co-edited the monthly “Perspectives” section of GENETICS for more than 20 years. Crow’s own written contributions to the section (45 articles) masterfully situated controversies and leaders in genetics in their historical context.

Crow seamlessly integrated research with outstanding teaching and a passion for public service. Crow excelled at explaining genetic concepts to a wide range of audiences, making him an unusually effective and popular teacher. He spoke to people he met in the community with the same admiration and excitement with which he greeted his scientific colleagues. Crow was that rare colleague whom everyone loved: a model scientist and an exemplary human.

Crow considered his students to be his greatest gift to science. It is in this spirit that the Genetics Society of America presents the James F. Crow Early Career Researcher Award to honor and celebrate Crow’s legacy.

Finalists for the award will present their research in a high-profile session at #PEQG18. The overall winner will be selected by the conference keynote speakers.


To be eligible to apply you must:

  • be a GSA member;
  • be a student or recent PhD (PhD awarded after January 2016);
  • conduct population, evolutionary, or quantitative genetics research;
  • and have submitted an abstract for presentation at the 2018 Population, Evolutionary, and Quantitative Genetics Conference.

Application Deadline

Applications have closed. The next round of awards will be presented at The Allied Genetics Conference in 2020.

Application Process

Submission should include:

  • Applicant's CV
  • Copies of the applicant's primary author published manuscripts that are the main components of the doctoral thesis
  • The ID number of the abstract submitted to the Conference and a copy of the abstract text
  • Short essay (250 words) that describes how the applicant became interested in science, their career path, and why their chosen research area is important. These should be targeted toward a general audience.

Please e-mail submissions as separate files in PDF format to for receipt by February 15, 2018. Subject line must be "James F. Crow Award." Only electronic submissions will be accepted.

Applicants should also arrange for two letters of recommendation to be e-mailed to under separate cover. The letters should focus on the applicant’s contribution to research, with particular attention paid to the significance and innovation of the applicant’s work.

Ensure the sustainability of this community award by contributing to the Crow Award Fund. GSA is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Contributions may be tax deductible.

Donate Now

Previous finalists for the James F. Crow Early Career Researcher Award

2018 (Winner) Katherine Xue, University of Washington
2018 Jeremy Berg, Columbia University
2018 Alison F. Feder, Stanford University
2018 Amy Goldberg, University of California, Berkeley
2018 Emily B. Josephs, University of California, Davis
2018 Emily C. Moore, North Carolina State University
2016 (Winner) Sarah Sander, Cornell University
2016 Matthew S. Ackerman, Indiana University, Bloomington
2016 Emily Behrman, University of Pennsylvania
2016 Heath Blackmon, University of Minnesota
2016 Gili Greenbaum, Ben-Gurion University
2016 Sandeep Venkataram, Stanford University

DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics

Graduate student and postdoctoral GSA members are eligible to apply for this award to support up to $1000 in travel costs for national and international meetings and laboratory courses, including the Population, Evolutionary, and Quantitative Genetics Conference. The award is named for long-time GSA member and National Science Foundation Program Director in Eukaryotic Genetics, DeLill Nasser. It is given in recognition of the critical role she played in research and for her love of genetics. Visit the award website for more information. The deadline for the current round of applications was November 1, 2017.

Poster Awards

Awards will be given for the best poster presentations by GSA student members. If you are a Genetics Society of America member, the first AND presenting author on the abstract, and an undergraduate or graduate student you may nominate your poster for an award. The following prizes will be awarded: 1st place - $300, 2nd place - $200, 3rd place - $100. Both scientific merit and clarity of presentation will be taken into account. Winners will be announced at the conference. PIs and Postdocs who are GSA members can indicate when they register if they would like to help with judging.

GSA Undergraduate Travel Awards

GSA Undergraduate Travel Awards are available to promote excellence in undergraduate research and education. This award will provide travel support to undergraduate GSA members who will be presenting research findings at a GSA conference, including the Population, Evolutionary, and Quantitative Genetics Conference. The deadline for the current round of applications was November 1, 2017.

Learn more about applying for the Awards and contributing to the Award Fund.