Important Dates

October 29
Abstract Submission
Registration Open
November 15
Tshirt Design Submissions
December 5
Abstract Submission Deadline
Early Registration Deadline
Housing Reservation Deadline
December 6
Abstract Revision Deadline

Meeting Organizers

Luis M. Corrochano,
Universidad de Sevilla

Xiaorong Lin,
University of Georgia

Fungal Home      PROGRAM: Invited Speakers

Invited Speakers

Fungal Conference Perkins/Metzenberg Lecture

The Perkins/Metzenberg Lecture is provoking perspective given by a leader in the field of fungal genetics that often includes an historical perspective, thoughts for the future, and some humor. We are pleased to announce the 2019 Perkins/Metzenberg Lecture will be given by John Taylor, University of California, Berkeley.

Previous Lectures:
2017 – Jay Dunlap, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth University
2015 – Michael J. Hynes, University of Melbourne
2013 – Regine Kahmann, Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology
2011 – Salomon Barnicki-Garcia, Cicese
2009 – Claudio Scazzocchio, University of Paris
2007 – June Kwon Chung, National Institutes of Health
2005 – Joan Bennett, Tulane University
2003 – Han VanEtten, University of Arizona
2001 – Ronald Morris, Rutgers University
1999 – Rowland Davis, University of CA, Irvine
1997 – Lorna Casselton, University of Oxford
1995 – Robert Metzenberg, University of Wisconsin, Madison
1993 – Cardy Raper, University of Vermont
1991 – David Perkins, Stanford University
1989 – Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University

Chairs' Choice Plenary Talks

Nomination Deadline: December 5, 2018
Speakers announced: January 21, 2019

The Chairs’ Choice Talks are an opportunity for high impact work published after the program is set to be highlighted in a plenary session.

Nominations (including self-nominations) are invited for Chair’s Choice Talks to be presented in the last spot of each plenary session. Nominators can self-define “high impact.”

To be considered, the work must be published or in press for 2018 or early 2019, and the nominee must agree to attend the entire meeting. Those invited to present talks in concurrent sessions are still eligible to be considered for a Chair’s Choice Plenary Talk. Meeting scientific co-chairs and plenary session chairs will choose among the nominations. Note: as is the case for all talks, no registration/housing waivers or travel funds will be awarded.

To submit a nomination send the following to scientific program co-chairs Luis Corrochano and Xiaorong Lin (;

  1. Speaker name, affiliation, email address and link to lab website (if available).
  2. Brief abstract of the work highlighting its importance (500 word maximum).
  3. A PDF of the publication or link to website.